Engineering New Zealand Conference Banner
|Home| |Welcome| |Information| |Venue| | Sun-Mon Programme|
|Tuesday Programme|
|Papers| |Presenters| |Sponsors| |Organising Committee|

Nigel Ridgway

Nigel Ridgway

Nigel  Ridgway graduated from the Whyalla Institute of Technology and the BHP traineeship system with a degree in mechanical engineering in 1988. After graduating Nigel was employed as the Mill Engineer at Western Mining Corporation’s Olympic Dam site. He has been employed in the slurry pump and mining industry for 15 years and has an interest in fluid mechanics, tribology and mineral processing. He is currently Operations Manager for a South Australian engineering firm.

Nigel has been a member of the SA Division’s Engineering Heritage & History Branch for many years and was Chairman from 2000 to 2006. In this role, he survived many Historic Engineering plaquings including the Trans Australia Railway, the Barossa Dam, and the River Murray systems. During this time he was also a member of the National Board of Engineering Heritage Australia.

Nigel has represented Engineers Australia on the History Council of South Australia and later became Vice President. He was chosen to be the South Australian representative on the Federation of Australian Historical Societies. Nigel is also a member of the International Stationary Steam Engine Society (ISSES) and has contributed articles on mines and engines to the ISSES Bulletin.

He is a Fellow member of Engineers Australia and has just completed his PhD thesis at the University of Adelaide.

Paper: The Coorong Battery at the Winnecke Gold Mine, NT

Abstract: The Winnecke gold mine was one of the remotest gold mines in Australia, not far from the more renowned Arltunga mines 90 km ENE of Alice Springs in the NT, which have been extensively researched by Donovan, Forrest, Holmes and Phelts et al. An examination of the site relics and literature reveals the important links to engineering in South Australia , early steam engine technology of Hawke and Co and their national contribution to mining. It was also found that the records of Hawke are randomly dispersed and it is hoped this paper will encourage others to conserve the engineering heritage and records of Hawke and Co.

Sir Neil Cossons
Paul Davies
David Dolan
Wayne Johnson
Euan McQueen
Robert McWilliam
Duncan Waterson
David Beauchamp
Trevor Butler
Matthew Churchward
Andrew Cleland
Rachael Egerton
John Fitzmaurice
Don Fraser
John Gibson
Owen Graham
David Hamilton
Bill Harvey
Peter Holmes
Kevin Jones
Paul Mahoney
Tom Williamson
Peter Lowe
Peter Marquis-Kyle
Gavin McLean
Rob Merrifield
Owen Peake
Miles Pierce
John Porter
Nigel Ridgway
Tony Silke
Jim Staton
Richard Venus
Ian Walsh
Daniel Woo
|Home| |Welcome| |Information| |Venue| | Sun-Mon Programme|
|Tuesday Programme|
|Papers| |Presenters| |Sponsors| |Organising Committee|
Engineering New Zealand  Engineers Australia University of Otago