Engineering New Zealand Conference Banner
|Home| |Welcome| |Information| |Venue| | Sun-Mon Programme|
|Tuesday Programme|
|Papers| |Presenters| |Sponsors| |Organising Committee|

Miles Pierce

Miles Pierce

Miles Pierce graduated with a Bachelor of Engineering degree from the University of Melbourne in 1965 having previously obtained a Diploma of Engineering at the Gordon Institute of Technology in Geelong.  The majority of his professional career has been with consulting engineers GHD P/L – formerly Gutteridge Haskins and Davey – and for many years he was Principal Electrical Engineer in the Melbourne based Victorian practice.  His experience covers electricity supply infrastructure, industrial and commercial/institutional power systems, process control and instrumentation and illumination engineering.

Miles has had a long-term interest in engineering and industrial heritage with a particular focus on mechanical and electrical engineering heritage.  He is a long serving committee member for the Institution’s Victoria Division, Engineering Heritage Group - Engineering Heritage Victoria – and is currently deputy chairman of EHV.    

Paper: Early Electricity Supply in Melbourne

Abstract: This paper traces the commencement of public electricity supply in Melbourne in 1882, placing it in the vanguard of similar developments worldwide. The subsequent participation of other private enterprise ventures and the entry of the Melbourne City Council into the field are then outlined along with the range of electricity supply technologies that were successively adopted, from HV series DC, single-phase AC, low-voltage DC to 3-phase AC.

Sir Neil Cossons
Paul Davies
David Dolan
Wayne Johnson
Euan McQueen
Robert McWilliam
Duncan Waterson
David Beauchamp
Trevor Butler
Matthew Churchward
Andrew Cleland
Rachael Egerton
John Fitzmaurice
Don Fraser
John Gibson
Owen Graham
David Hamilton
Bill Harvey
Peter Holmes
Kevin Jones
Paul Mahoney
Tom Williamson
Peter Lowe
Peter Marquis-Kyle
Gavin McLean
Rob Merrifield
Owen Peake
Miles Pierce
John Porter
Nigel Ridgway
Tony Silke
Jim Staton
Richard Venus
Ian Walsh
Daniel Woo
|Home| |Welcome| |Information| |Venue| | Sun-Mon Programme|
|Tuesday Programme|
|Papers| |Presenters| |Sponsors| |Organising Committee|
Engineering New Zealand  Engineers Australia University of Otago