Engineering New Zealand Conference Banner
|Home| |Welcome| |Information| |Venue| | Sun-Mon Programme|
|Tuesday Programme|
|Papers| |Presenters| |Sponsors| |Organising Committee|

Sir Neil Cossons

Sir Neil Cossons

Sir Neil Cossons retired in 2007 as Chairman of English Heritage, the United Kingdom Government’s principal adviser on the historic environment. Previously, from 1986 to 2000, he was Director of the Science Museum, London - the National Museum of Science & Industry - and, from 1971, the first Director of the Ironbridge Gorge Museum. A pioneer in the field of industrial archaeology he has spent most of his life engaged in the preservation and conservation of the engineering and industrial heritage. He was awarded the President’s Medal of the Royal Academy of Engineering in 1993, the Maitland Medal of the Institution of Structural Engineers in 2002, and is a Companion of the Institution of Electrical Engineers and the Royal Aeronautical Society.

Today Neil Cossons is Chairman of the Council of the Royal College of Art - Britain's only post-graduate college of art and design - and advises internationally on heritage policy and management.

Paper: Does the Engineering Heritage Matter

Abstract: In this illustrated lecture Sir Neil Cossons sets out the issues surrounding the conservation of the engineering heritage with examples of some of the achievements, and dilemmas, in this important field. He will emphasise the importance of the engineering heritage as an integral part of the past that we wish to take into the future and the crucial need to engage with the public and the wider heritage movement.

Sir Neil Cossons
Paul Davies
David Dolan
Wayne Johnson
Euan McQueen
Robert McWilliam
Duncan Waterson
David Beauchamp
Trevor Butler
Matthew Churchward
Andrew Cleland
Rachael Egerton
John Fitzmaurice
Don Fraser
John Gibson
Owen Graham
David Hamilton
Bill Harvey
Peter Holmes
Kevin Jones
Paul Mahoney
Tom Williamson
Peter Lowe
Peter Marquis-Kyle
Gavin McLean
Rob Merrifield
Owen Peake
Miles Pierce
John Porter
Nigel Ridgway
Tony Silke
Jim Staton
Richard Venus
Ian Walsh
Daniel Woo
|Home| |Welcome| |Information| |Venue| | Sun-Mon Programme|
|Tuesday Programme|
|Papers| |Presenters| |Sponsors| |Organising Committee|
Engineering New Zealand  Engineers Australia University of Otago